Dydd Hapus Gŵyl Dewi!

Happy St. David’s Day!

In this article in The Telegraph, we find that St. David, a Celtic monk, may have died on March 1, 589 AD and he might have been the nephew of King Arthur.  Orrrr, his mother, St. Non, might have been King Arthur’s niece.  There are a few theories.  A few quick on-line checks (I’m a traveler, not a historian) come up with many widely conflicting stories about mom, some not to pleasant.  One thing I’ve seen repeatedly is that Dave and his monk friends lived a very simple life, surviving on bread, herbs, and water.  That may be surviving, but it’s not my idea of living!

March 1 is the day  for commemorating the death the patron saint of Wales. According to the good (and questionably accredited) people at wikipedia, The National Assembly of Wales voted unanimously to make it a public holiday in 2000.  Regardless of a 2007 poll finding that 87% of the people in Wales want the day to be a bank holiday, the office of the British Prime Minister, Tony Blair, rejected a petition to recognize it as such.  Seeing as we’ve only just been here for a couple of weeks, I won’t venture into the political debate I don’t understand one bit.  I’ll leave it to you to research, debate, and decide for yourself. Time to check out the festivities!

20160220_124632-1 St. Davids DayNewspapers and online listings tell us that we missed a fair few celebrations over the weekend, including parades and Welsh Male Voice Choir concerts.   The big thing seems to be parades with people dressed in traditional welsh clothing, wrapping themselves in the Welsh flag featuring the red dragon, and wearing… what else?  Leeks!

Now, the leek is the national vegetable, but I’m not entirely sure how a person goes about wearing one.  I am quite certain this won’t be taking off as a trend, elsewhere, any time soon (and I don’t profess to know squat about the trends in fashion).  According to David Morgan (disclaimer: it’s a jewellery website with some interesting information), the daffodil has been overtaking the leek as an accessory for the big day due to political reasons, not fragrance or fashion.  I’m not from here.  I won’t weigh in on this debate, either.

A woman wears a daffodil hat

Photo: Getty Images

Anyone who really knows me, especially my family and past co-workers, will know that I’d be rocking a big ol’ daffodil head today, if only I had my sewing machine!

 

I’m not going to wear any leeks.  I don’t have a tall black hat to wear over my white ruffled bonnet.  I’ve missed most of the concerts and other events.  What’s left?  Parades, you say?  Who doesn’t love a parade?

Um… we don’t.  Neither of us likes crowds. Personal space is under-appreciated in crowds. Jostling around with a bunch of strangers, trying to see over their heads just isn’t our idea of fun (neither of us has ever been called Stretch in any way that didn’t include sarcasm). Through previous jobs, we’ve both been in parades (usually sitting in the back of a pick-up truck at -40C, tossing frozen candy into the crowd, trying not to put someone’s eye out), so any hint of parade magic that may have existed is long gone.

Regardless, I really hoped to take in (or, at least, witness from a safe distance) some version of this country’s big day.  I found a parade in another town, checked out the route, promised that we could do something fun (like finding a bakery) after seeing a little of it. Perhaps the novelty of a parade in a new country would over-ride our natural adverse reactions.  Hope springs eternal!

You know what else is eternal in the UK?  Rain.

We went to bed to the sound of rain.  We woke up to the sound of rain.  Karen had never been so happy to hear the wet stuff pelting down.  She often tries to humour me and my activity planning, but really didn’t want to drive 30+ miles so I could say that I witnessed activities to commemorate some dude from the 6th Century. To tell the truth, I was a bit relieved, too.  I was trying to fake it for the sake of a travel experience.

I had to find another way to mark the day.  I found this recipe for Welsh Rarebit on the BBC Food website.  We had Welsh Slate Cavern Aged Cheddar, and Welsh brewed Watkin’s Cwrw Braf.  To the kitchen!

20160301_110542 St. Davids Day

Ta dah!  Hot, tasty, meltie, cheesie Welsh Rarebit!  This absolutely would have been better with a nice, fresh loaf of sour dough or grainy whole wheat bread.  I also would have selected a rich, dark porter or stout, but this ale was what I had on hand.  Karen is encouraging me to keep trying out variations until I feel it’s perfect.  So supportive.

20160301_123811 St. Davids Day

Oh, yeah, there was that big open bottle of beer, too.  What’s a public holiday without a glass of beer with lunch, am I right?  And, heh… it’s the national drink of Wales!

20160227_150445-1 St. Davids Day.jpg

Happy St. David’s Day!

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “Dydd Hapus Gŵyl Dewi!

  1. Oh I do love the Welsh! And I did read “Watkin’s Cwrw Braf” as Watkins Cwrw BARF….which made me giggle, although I’m sure it was very nice. Food, flowers, and a beer….oh and rain. Perfect day! Glad you are having a good time. 🙂

    Like

  2. Sounds like you are having so much fun. Sorry it rained on your parade (she says sarcastically). I’ve never heard of St. David. Do you know what he did to be called a Saint? Was he martyred? BTW, I love the bottom picture. Such a beautiful garden.

    Like

  3. One story I read said that David was addressing a crowd, but was having trouble being heard. Doves flew around him and the ground he stood on was raised to a hill, so he could address the people.

    He is also the paton saint of doves.

    The garden is at the end of our street. The homeowner is the one who first mentioned the day to me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy St. David’s Day. If it’s dark porter or stout you be wanting, then over to Ireland for St. Paddy’s Day. It’s only about as far as Grand Beach across the Irish Sea.

    Like

  5. I had to stop drinking Guiness for a bit, David. I am making myself try Welsh brews. I tell you, the work never ends!

    Like

  6. Well, St. David is a new one on me, but perhaps there is something to that King Arthur relation. Isn’t that red dragon his symbol in the annals of lore? It’s been years since I made a rarebit. That looks so good, you’ve inspired me to see if I still have my old recipe. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Leah this looks like something I made growing up. It wasn’t called a fancy name like Welsh rabbit. I called it a grilled cheese sandwich under the oven broiler.
    Belinda

    Like

  8. I KNOW! It looks just like the old sliced cheese put under the broiler, but I swear that I started with making a roux, added beer, then did the whole cheese sauce thing. I certainly wasn’t doing that as a kid.

    Like

  9. I read that it is said that that St. Patrick (the patron of Ireland) predicted the birth of St. David. Last July I stood there at the cliff where St. David was born at a stormy day. Near that place is a chapel for St. Non, his mother. I really wondered why she had left the village to give birth at the cliff in a storm?! 😉
    I hope you had a great St. David’s Day and enjoyed the beer. Prost!

    Like

  10. Don’t discount the lowly leek. However, I can’t imagine why I would call something that costs the world in Canada “lowly”. They make the most beautiful soup. I love them.

    Like

  11. I’ve seen the spot where she gave birth (in pictures only) and wondered the same thing. There was something going on that we’ll never know, I’d say.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I love them, too. I also love potatoes and loaves of bread, but you won’t see me wearing either of those to my next festival! Then again, people may raise an eyebrow at the Canadian flag deelie bops I’ve worn on my head, so I’d best keep my fashion advice to myself.

    Like

  13. It is wonderful. Sometimes, when I’m picking moss and mushrooms out of my armpits, I have to remind myself, but I am lucky.

    Like

Please jump in with a comment, a question, or a suggestion. I'd love to hear from you.

