Nibbles: The Chippy Girl Edition

“More history,” said a friend.
“More eating and drinking,” said my sister.

You know what they say, blood is thicker than water.
You know what else they say?  Don’t drink beer at the pub when you still have a couple of miles to walk, but that’s another story.

What do you think of when I say British food? I’m sure pub grub comes to mind.  There are those funny sounding dishes: bangers and mash, bubbles and squeak, blood pudding.  Oh, sorry, there’s nothing funny about blood pudding.  I digress.  If fish and chips don’t top the list, I don’t know where you’ve been.

image

We aren’t big deep-fried food eaters, but come on.  We’re in England!  So, somehow, running to the chippy has become my job.  I did it once, and that’s it.  I am now the official chippy girl in our household.  AND this means that I have to go our after dark.  This life is not easy.

The first time we went to the chippy was in London.  Our hosts directed us to the best one and told us to only order one piece of fish and a small order of chips for the two of us.  I was a bit worried, I will admit.  Sounded like more of a snack than supper.  I didn’t need to worry.  Huge!  I also didn’t need to order the pickled onion and mushy peas.  No, wait, I love mushy peas.  Not the onion, though.

We had fish and chips with a friend in Manchester after our Coronation Street tour (have I mentioned the Coronation Street tour lately?).  Deep fried heaven.  The batter was light and crispy and golden and flaky and sumptuous.  It was so delicious, I’m pretty sure it was good for me.  Anything that feels so right can’t be wrong.  Doesn’t somebody say that?

image

Full disclosure:  still not true fans of these big, fat British chips (which I would maybe call home fries). French fries are available here and there, but not at our chippy in Heysham. I will say that I far prefer the handle “skinny fries” which is also used for french fries. Again, clearly, there must be a benefit to eating these. I might start calling them skinny fries at home.

As we prepare to move on to Wales, I can’t help wondering what one food will be on every menu.  Likely fish and chips, but it will be spelled something like Llywpergn grrwyyn Bpllyen.  We have been reading up, and we’re a little concerned about our ability to pronounce things.  Stay tuned.

19 thoughts on “Nibbles: The Chippy Girl Edition

  1. I wonder if I am the only person that would, should I ever find myself in Britain, seek out Indian food? I know there are a fairly decent number of South Asian Brits and I LOVE Indian food, so, I would be actively scouting that out, haha 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mummm. British fish ‘n chips! Except I don’t remember them coming in box. Ours were wrapped in newsprint paper and then newspapers to keep them hot.. over 40 years ago.

    Like

  3. Well if you are ever in London, make your way to Covent Gardens Market, and the spoke (Market is the hub) streets are full of quaint little Indian (where the real Indians eat) Curry Houses. If you like it spicy “the Last days of the Raj” is a must stop

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, yes, that’s what I want right now. Let me set up the replicator. Fun story with it too, and I’ll be interested to learn how those Welsh words are pronounced.

    Like

  5. Haha… new version of Fry Guy?

    Strange that 2 of your comments ended up in Spam, Chris. I hadn’t thought to look before. Glad I found you.

    Like

Please jump in with a comment, a question, or a suggestion. I'd love to hear from you.

